Just rescued an extremely skinny female ball python

Recently went and rescued a female juvenile ball python, which I was told was not eating. I was told she hadn’t eaten in a month. She is a juvenile, I would guess, approximately 12 in Long. My question is this, should I put her on a normal feeding schedule with the rest of my animals? Or should I feed her more often, to try to get her to put weight on? She took a Frozen thawed yesterday, and seems to be more active than when she first got here. Also, she appears to have a blue belly, from her tail up to about 6 inches from her head. This just strikes me as weird.

The blue probably means she’s going into shed, as for the feeding, I tend to just stick to a standard feeding schedule if they haven’t been off food for a while. A month isn’t too long for a baby so she should do okay on a normal schedule, but I’m still pretty new to picky or non-feeders so I’m sure someone with more experience can weigh in here. If she’s already taken a meal from you I wouldn’t be too worried, though don’t be surprised if she goes on and off food a couple times before eating consistently. At least that’s what’s happened with one or two of my own snakes.

Can you share a picture of her? It might help to see what she looks like to give you a better answer.

I mean, she is not even the least bit round. She is literally a triangle. Since she ate yesterday, she does look a little healthier.

I will share a picture tomorrow, when I can take her a picture outside in the sun.

Just keep her on a normal schedule. Overfeeding can be just as damaging to a snake as it not eating. That said, if she is just skin and bones, then it has likely been longer than a month since she has eaten. That or she never ate consistently and only had like 1 or 2 meals since she hatched.