Would you guys like a ball python morph classifier?

Hey guys!
I’m a data science student at lambda and I had a cool idea. Would you guys be interested in a website or app that can take a picture of your ball python and tell you the genes it has? For instance you upload a your picture and it tells you this is a Mojave ghi clown. I would train a program using convulated neural networks I think. But it could be fun haha. I want to see how accurate I could get it at classifying things like yellowbelly or orange dream. It could be a giant inaccurate dumpster fire but it would be a fun inaccurate dumpster fire

26 Likes

I’ll give you both sides of my thoughts.

YES! if this could be possible then it would completely change the whole game. If it worked I would happily pay really decent money for such a software.

Without sounding like a dream crusher, I think this is the most likely outcome. With the variation in different morphs, it would be extremely difficult to guarantee which genes are involved.

If you have the resources, then this is what it is all about. Enjoying what you are doing. I say give it a shot.

I believe @owalreptiles and @t_h_wyman will be able to give you in depth opinions on this and maybe even some tips.

2 Likes

I would love you to try this and see how it works out! I had tried a little bit using Orange and some other image data mining software and it failed pretty abysmally (~60% success rate of differentiating between clown and Mojave), and would love to see someone more skilled in data science give it a try.

I’m sure it would definitely be possible and probably successful as our engineer built a program/robot that is super accurate at sorting fruit flies, and ball pythons morphs are way more easy to distinguish than that. Obviously the caveat is that on rare morphs/combos you probably wouldn’t have enough pictures to train with, but for more common morphs it should work.

4 Likes