Is strike feeding best, or best for all ball pythons?

I am new to Ball pythons, but not snakes in general to which i have many years experience.
Most references about feeding ball pythons talk about strike feeding being the only or best way for ball pythons. So that’s how I started to try and feed them,
Sure its convenient, you immediately know who has fed and its fast and convenient.
But with my previous non ball pythons I used to prefer passive feeding as it was called back in the day.
By this i mean not heating the food so heat pits could recognise it and just leaving the food in the tank.

Since getting into ball pythons recently I struggled to get some of my more shy ball pythons to strike feed. It scared and intimidated them. they would sometimes rather starve.
In a recent post about tips to get a ball python to feed I saw one person saying just leave it in the tank over night. (sorry cant remember the person to credit them)

That reminded me of the old way i chose to condition my non ball pythons animals to feed.
I tried it for my shy non feeders and it worked.

The snakes are less aggressive that way when hungry. The non feeders and shy ones also started to eat or ate better.

I submit that passive feeding is better because you have more feeding success with shy animals and you do not get aggressive snakes when hungry. EDIT: Following t_h_wyman comment, to clarify please do not take the word aggressive literally . Please see his comment for clarification.

Obviously all animals are different but is passive feeding not a good way to progress conditioning for all?

Any thoughts or comments? Just an opinion and I am willing to learn more from your views.

3 Likes