Good intermediate gecko species

I have some experience caring for arboreal gecko species, and I want to get another sometime next year, but I can’t decide what. I have experience with rhacodactylus geckos, so I’d like most suggestions to steer clear of any rhacodactylus species. thanks.

You could try day geckos or skinks (especially crocodile skinks),

Sorry, forgot to mention, I’m looking for something handleable, or at least will tolerate occasional handling.

2 Likes

Tokays, when worked with when they’re young, can be handleable from what I’ve seen. I haven’t personally owned any tokay so I can’t truly verify it.

Some giant day geckos can grow to tolerate their owners and even crawl onto your arm, but that takes a very long time. My experience with Car Insurance has taught me that he doesn’t like me :sweat_smile:

4 Likes

I know they’re super closely related to crested geckos, and I said I didn’t want anything rhacodactylus or related to crested geckos and stuff like that, but how handleable are Correlophus sarasinorum?

I think that a lot of arboreal gecko species in the pet trade are Rhacodactylus. I think I remember reading that some Uroplatus (leaf-tailed geckos) are intermediate level.

I don’t think they’re super aboreal but I don’t know anything else about them

2 Likes

What about Aeluroscalabotes Felinus (Cat Gecko)? They look adorable and are semi arboreal. Although I believe they need specific needs in order to thrive.

2 Likes

I would recommend the larger Uroplatus species such as fimbriatus or sikorae as a good intermediate level arboreal gecko. My specimens were very handleable, even the WC individuals. I would recommend starting out with CBB or CH specimens at first, because WC individuals can be difficult to acclimate. If you’re interested in this genus, I’d be happy to talk more about it with you.

5 Likes