When Hobbies Collide!

Stuck home with the 'vid so I decided to try my hand at designing a simple, scalable hide for my snakes that I can make with my 3d printer. Even added the name to the first one.

I am a CNC programmer, so design and modeling is super in my wheel house. I don’t have access to the same high caliber software I do at the office from home so I had to start teaching myself some free-ware design software. This was a fun little project. It’s currently on my 3d printer. Will post pics when it’s done.

Check it out.
Capture

Do you guys have any hobbies that you have been able to find a use for in the herp world?

12 Likes

Next up is this hide but with a removable top for a sponge to make a humid hide.

5 Likes

This is something I don’t talk a whole lot about just because of the negative connotations the general public has about the furry fandom (which is ridiculous because most of the common arguments against hating the fandom are simply not true… I won’t go into most of them because they’re not family friendly but anyways-), I do in part consider myself to be a part of the furry fandom. My fiancé on the other hand, is much more involved.

I mainly partake because I have developed a good artistic skill in both digital art and on the side, fursuit crafting. (I’ve thought about attempting to design and build a ball python and/or hognose partial. Might be a fun project.)

I very much specialize in drawing both anthropomorphic and non-anthropomorphic animals. I struggle with drawing humans and humanoids though :rofl:

This has helped me in two ways:

a) I sell custom art commissions and get paid quite well for it — think $100-$200 per commission on average— I’ve been able to put that money towards all kinds of things, including my snakes. I even got enough commissions within the span of a week to pay off a $910 credit card balance!