Discussion about etiquette in negotiating

Hello everyone. I am somewhat new to the hobby, I’m in my third year of owning and first year of breeding. Right now my wife and I are focusing on ball pythons but I thought this topic would be a good discussion to pose to everyone in the industry.

Basically my question is about the etiquette of price negotiating as a buyer mostly but I wouldn’t mind hearing about the selling side as well. Either from the perspective of shows or here on Morphmarket or anywhere else.