Easy, fool proof egg setup

A lot of issue people may experience are either egg drying out and collapsing or eggs being too wet and starting to mold, I found this method to be fool proof and I have been using it now for a little over 10 years with ZERO issue.

What will you need?

The supply list is pretty simple.

6 or 7 quarts tub similar to this http://www.sterilite.com/SelectProduct.html?id=937&ProductCategory=180&section=1 You will be able to hatch 10 to 12 egg clutches in those tubs for larger clutches or big eggs use a 12 or 15 quarts tub.

Light diffuser sheet https://www.lowes.com/pd/PLASKOLITE-Common-24-in-x-48-in-Actual-23-75-in-x-47-75-in-7-85-sq-ft-Louvered-Ceiling-Light-Panels/3280904

Perlite https://www.homedepot.com/p/Vigoro-2-cu-ft-Perlite-Soil-Amendment-100521091/205655210 or vermiculite (I prefer perlite)

Water

Painter masking tape similar to this https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scotch-Masking-Tape-94-x-54-6-Yards/25517009

Pen

First get your tub and label it, I like to use painter masking tape to make my labels, it’s cheap and comes of easy without leaving residue. You can also write directly on the tub.

Once labeled add 4 cups of perlite (or vermiculite) in your tub followed by 1.5 cup of water.

Mix the perlite and water together.

Once done place the light diffuser (cut to the dimensions of your tub) on the top of the substrate.

Now all you need are some eggs.

Candle your eggs and discard lose slugs. If the eggs are stuck together which they usually are do not attempt to separate the eggs that have weak veins or are not fertile, this is not worth the risk (eggs that go bad and start to mold will not affect healthy eggs in the clutch)

Place your eggs on the top of the light diffuser.

Close the lid.