Humidity question

I’ve just switched over to tubs since our collection is growing and I keep the temp at 80, the hot spot is typically about 85 at the surface and have reptichip bedding. I have a thermometer/hygrometer in the tub about 2" off the surface which has been reading between 60-75% and ive been struggling to keep it in that range. Just received my temp gun today which has a hygrometer and its reading 20% while tub hygrometer is still reading 60%. Which reading should I be more concerned with? The reptichip feels dry to the touch and ive had 2 separate in tub hygrometers with same reading. Humidity in the room is about 15%. Thanks in advance for the help!

2 Likes

Thermometers and hygrometers vary from one to the next even within the same exact product line. It’s always best to use multiples that consistently give similar readings. I’ve been hatching exotic species for 20 years and I have never found a specific product that is reliable every time.

In my ball python room, I use a phillips home room humidifier and it keeps the room on track vs me having to mist or use specific substrates.

4 Likes

Hello. When I started tubs it was a lot of trial and error for me. I drove myself crazy with it and I’m sure I drove my snakes even more so!
To start Assuming you are in your house and haven’t built a room especially for reptiles, there can be so Mitch fluctuation in humidity and temp in each room just based on time of year. And tons of other factors (bin size, bin depth, # of air holes, size of water bowl, type of substrate, amount of substrate, how the rack is built and breaths, and the list can go on. My point is and I’m not telling you the greatest of hobiests would agree w/ my bin theory, but sometimes you just need to look at your animals.