My coastal carpet won't eat

I received my baby on sept 22. She was born in May of this year. On Sept 25th she ate great but since the she hasn’t taken anything. She shows extreme interest and looks like she’s gonna strike for about 5 minutes then looses interest. I know this is normal for ball pythons but I am new to carpets. Any advice?

I have had success getting stubborn carpets to feed by scenting with low-sodium chicken broth. Also, if you have only offered f/t, you may want to try live, and be sure to feed at night as these snakes are nocturnal. If you would describe your setup and temps, we can see if there is any need for adjustment.

1 Like

Right now I just have in a 9 liter tub with 95 on hot side and 76 on cold side with a hide on either side. Humidity stays between 70 and 80. I wanted to keep her in this until she ate a few times but I have something ready for her

3 Likes

Have you tried to feed live and possibly a smaller size?

The first one she ate for me was a hopper. Then I have tried fuzzie and pinkie just to be sure. She is stull in a sterile environment from purchase and she was born on May 8th and her weight is 58g

I know that it sounds horrible but you might have to sent the feeder or split the skin of the noise to create more airborne smell. (I recommend that you try senting them first because the splitting takes a bit of skill and plus it is gross)

What should I sent it with and how? They already smell like mice to me?

@stewart_reptiles will likely know a good few tips and tricks to help you out :blush:

1 Like