UTHs and sand boas

I’ve been keeping sand boas for a few years now, and house them in glass tanks on metal shelving (not solid shelves but open wire) with heat cable. The cable doesn’t come in direct contact with the tanks but runs just below.
My question is this: I want to switch to UTH heating but am a little concerned with having the heaters in direct contact with the glass. I provide about 1-1/2 inches of sanichip bedding, but my snakes like to snuggle down next to the glass, and I’m concerned that the heaters may burn them. The UTH heaters I have purchased are 4 watt. I’m in the process of adding shelving since my addiction is growing :laughing: and thought this would be a good time to switch my heating.
Should I increase the depth of the bedding? I’m wondering if they go to the bottom because the heat cable doesn’t warm enough and they are seeking more warmth, and they won’t go that close if there is an UTH warming the bedding? I use a thermostat to monitor and regulate the heat.
Has anyone had a problem with burns related to UTH? I prefer to keep them in tanks since they have been doing really well eating, shedding, etc. and I enjoy being able to view them. They also seem to enjoy their environment.

It’s not about bedding or type of enclosure it’s about having your heat source (regardless of whether it is a UTH, heat cable, etc) controlled by a reliable thermostat.

1 Like

My thermostat is reliable so I’m not worried about it failing. I’m just worried that my snakes may lay on the glass directly above the heater and get burned. So if I set the temp to 90 for the heat gradient the area would be safe? I’ve only read about problems from thermostat failure, but is direct contact with the glass also an issue? Maybe I’m just worried for nothing :worried: