A Long Overdue Update on my Ashen Project

Hello everyone!

It has been some time since I have posted on any forum, but I feel I have a bit more to say about this project than really fits into the attention span of the typical individual scrolling social media at any given time, even though I intend to try to keep things brief.

(Edited to make the comparison photo the primary in the thumbnail since I’m still learning how this forum works. More on that later!)

Most are likely unfamiliar with this project of mine, so here’s the abridged version. It began with an unusual female imported from Africa around 2003. I first saw her around 600g or so. She was originally in a friend of mine’s collection, referred to as “weird ghost type,” as she was lighter in color than normal and had a different look to her. I took possession of this animal around 2006, and she first produced for me in 2009. This is an old, not so great photo of her, followed by a head shot of the blushed head with reduced dark border stripes I look for when identifying animals with this phenotype. (I need to remember to take a better photo)

Since that first clutch, I have had a total of 64 eggs make full-term from animals in this project (including a couple disaster null-allele Super Pastels, 1 dead in egg and the other that failed to thrive). Of those, only 11 have exhibited phenotypes I would characterize as Ashen, with varying degrees of expression. An additional 15 of the 64 offspring I noted as odd or unusual, some having unusually busy patterns, or some having blushed out “black backs.” Based on these observations, I either have horrendous luck with some form of domanince, or I am fairly certain I have a polygenic phenotype in Ashen with no fewer than three contributing mutations.