Adopted a beardie

Hey everyone! I need some advice. I’m new to the bearded dragon thing, I just adopted one and I’m not familiar. He is about 5 months old. He came with the tank & environment he has been living in with previous owner. I’m trying to figure out if I should give him some time to adjust, or just go ahead and start handling… any advice? He has been worked on with previous owners but they said they didn’t truly have the time he needed and still needs a lot of work. Any suggestions???

3 Likes

I don’t know about bearded dragon, but from what I know about others, it is always best to let them settle in for at least a week. Even though it is in its original housing, there was a move involved and changes within the location/environment. I know it is hard to sit and wait, but it is usually best for the animals.

1 Like

I agree. At the very least, wait until the animal is feeding well. Not just insects, but some dark leafy greens (no spinach) as well. A healthy appetite is always a good sign the animal is OK in his new environment.

3 Likes

He actually ate his dubai roaches fine today. I was gonna give him greens and see how he does this evening.

2 Likes

I agree with @dlhirst and @d_y_python as far as letting him settle in. The fact that he’s already eating for you is a super good sign! :+1::wink:.

After he had has some healthy greens and yummy roaches for a few days and he realizes you are the “lunch lady”, you could gently see if he wants to interact with you but I would take it slow and easy. I don’t know if beardies bite? but I am sure in time you will have him watching tv with you!

IMO, beardies are such wonderful creatures!

Best wishes! :lizard::frog::snake:

1 Like