Advice for First-Time Owner With Small Dog?

Hello! I’ve been stalking morphmarket for nearly two years now, researching animals and would have gone to a reptile expo a few months back to ask this question in person and maybe buy a snake (or at least get to hold one) before covid ruined everything.

So instead I thought people here might have the advice I was seeking. I have a very small dog (Japanese Chin). He’s generally well-behaved. An apartment breed which means he spends most days sleeping. I want to make sure whatever snake breed (or otherwise, I’ll get to that) will be safe for him and also not stressed out by his existence. There is a husky in my house as well, but on top of me not being worried about her because she’s big and seemingly indestructible, she is my roommates dog and won’t be in the room much at all.

I adore the look of hognose snakes, but their minor venomous bite is a concern. Obviously, in a perfect world, the dog and snake should have no interaction at all. But I feel like it’s better to plan for the worst. Would hognose venom be a big concern when considering a dog that is around five pounds?

If not a hognose, I was also considering a ball python? I know they do not have fangs or venom, but get quite a bit larger in the long run usually. Would that be a safer option?

And if not any of that, I thought… maybe a turtle. But obviously that’s a much higher financial investment both short and long term so I’m not certain about that. But if that’s the absolutely best option for owning a reptile without putting my dog or the reptile in danger/stress, I’d be willing to do that because turtles are also pretty great.