Advice for first time (unproven) breeder male

For the past month I have been trying to pair a totally unproven male who has just matured enough (230g, 42 inches, 2.5 years old). I have never used an unproven male before

The first minute I put him in with a lady, he was all over her. They were racing around for 30 mins. I could see his tail going for the lock multiple times. I saw his hemipenes pop out at one point, also

So clearly, he wanted to breed

However, the female seemed to want nothing to do with it, and the racing never stopped… I decided after 30 mins, i didnt want to stress her so i removed him.

I gave him a week, another meal, her as well, and tried once more with the same pair
Now, he doesnt race at all! He has not tried anything
Shes completely calm and has even twitched like a hognose a few times, and yet he is now not even trying to lock. I took him out after 2 days of them just kind of quietly cohabbing

I have other girls I hope to pair with him, so I gave him some time and then tried with another girl. Same thing.
Raced a little bit the first hour, and this girl was much more calm, yet, no sign of a lock. And then, after that initial period, he seemed to shy away, slept far away from her in a different area of the tank, and when she slithers around, he tries to get away, even though she is not displaying anything like aggression/food response, and is just curiously slithering around to greet me and look around (she’s very curious and always does this, great personality)!

I’m wondering if he just has some jitters being around these big females, or maybe i put him with too many too fast, despite the breaks. I’ve not had any issues with pairing until now. But I know I still have lots to learn, as a breeder whos just begun! I’d love any and all advice from folks more experienced than I am.

Is it just because hes new, and my females are huge? Is there anything I can do to make things go smoother, or should I just give him more time?