Advice for Royal Python Set Up

Ok guys I’m new to Snake keeping and I’ve done much research on the royal python before buying. So I am buying a baby/ juvenile, now rather than buy the full 4-ft setup up I have opted for a cheaper alternative for the time being as it is still a baby. now I have watched many videos and one of the videos I’ve watched they use the plastic storage tub, this is what I have opted for so I have bought a 50 gallon plastic storage tub drill 20 holes in the side and set it up as you would set up any tank hot side coldside etc now when I was buying the supplies from my local reptile store I was advised against this type of setup which goes against every bit of research I have done on YouTube etc watching videos from other breeders I was told the snake could potentially grow up disformed and at risk of killing a snake as there wouldn’t be any UV my answer to this was I will give it vitamin D powder on its food but was told by the man in the shop but this is insignificant and I could potentially kill my snake can I have your thoughts on this

If you are buying an hatchling or juvy go with a 6 to 12 quarts tub, this is important, you g individual do better in smaller enviroment, and since this will be your first snake it is important to provide an optimal enviroment that will be stress free for the animal and will allow you to observe and learn what a normal ball python behaviour is.

They do not need UV (those are nocturnal animals) nor do they need calcium as the prey item provides the necesary amount of calcium.

Here is a guide for new owner just like yourself it will cover your supply list, feeding etc .

Last advice stay away from places like YouTube and such, there is a lot of misinformation, incomplete information, potentially dangerous advice and no one there to oversee, in other words a lot of self proclaim expert.

5 Likes

6 to 12 quarts ???