Baby western Hognose problems

We purchased a baby Hognose recently and he is having feeding problems. We’ve had him about a month now (he’s 8 grams) and were not sure if more time is needed to get him comfortable or not. We’ve done scented Pinky (tuna,toad and egg) and unscented. We’ve brained the pinky, served it only the head ,put him in a container and left the pinky overnight as well. Temps are on the cool side about 72 and warm about 85 , there’s a lot of clutter and a few hides. He is in a 20 gallon tank w aspen. Our next step is to put him in a smaller tank but he seems like he’s comfortable because he doesn’t stay hidden. Is not staying hidden a bad sign? And any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you

I’m new to hog owning. The males can be extra difficult I hear. I have a young male as well. How are you feeding him, by tong or leaving it in there? When are you feeding him night or day? Is the enclosure open on all 4 sides? Also have you contacted the breeder or seller on how it was kept and fed? Are you handling him?

@stewart_reptiles Sounds like this is a job for you. Aren’t male hognoses harder to get feeding as well? And it is difficult to care for one that is under 15 grams too.

1 Like

The problem with hognose snakes are as followed

Sold too young with not enough meals under their belt to people with limited experience and not provided with the right environment from the start here IMO we have both. Yes males can be tricky but this usually happens at a later stage.

It’s important to understand that because of the size you need to make changes and make changes fast.

First your enclosure is WAY too big and should be put aside until your hog reaches 100 grams. Usually for a well established animal in the hand of someone with previous experience I would recommend a 5 gallons tank max, not here get a 6 quarts tub or smaller (2.7 quarts would be even better), have 1/2 inch of aspen as bedding and leave him alone.