Back heat or Belly heat for a hatchling rack?

I’m in the midst of making a colubrid hatchling rack. It’s going to be PVC and hold 30 2.7qt tubs. I was originally planning on routing a small section in the back of each level for belly heat. But then I realized how incredibly tedious that was going to get. What’s everyone’s opinion on heating for a hatchling rack?

1 Like

I have both back heat and belly heat racks, and I prefer the back heat. The little channels for belly heat make it harder to get the tubs in and out.

4 Likes

I’m just curious as well as I have no experience with back heat but would you say you still get a decent temperature gradient with that? Again please excuse my ignorance. I guess my concern was that it would radiate across more of the tube and not up like the other orientation? if that makes sense.

1 Like

It works both ways. It heats up the surface it’s attached to so it heats top and bottom either way. When you look at it with a thermal camera there isn’t much difference.

As @westridge pointed out, the tubs don’t get hung up on it. After 4-5 years of tubs sliding on top of it, some of them will crinkle and it jams the tub closed when it does. Jerking it loose is surely a rude experience to the resident lol.

3 Likes

Your backround temperature is going to have a big effect on your gradient temperatures with either style tape as well.

3 Likes