Banana or what is it?

I need your help. I got this 3 year old girl as Banana YB, unfortunately not with complete papers. It bears no resemblance to any other bananas. The colors are stronger and the eyes are dark red. What did I get there ??

5 Likes

Edit: After review the age, I’m thinking Lavender Albino with the red eyes. Not sure how that would be confused for banana tho. I’m not an expert on lavs tho.

3 Likes

I also thought of an albino species. I think it’s a bit like Candy.

4 Likes

I agree because if she was banana there would definitely be freckling by her age, and the purple “wedges” (idk what to call them) in her pattern definitely resemble lavender albino.

3 Likes

Looks like a candy or candino to me. Bananas will never have red eyes iirc

4 Likes

Not a Banana. Based on the tone of the colouration this is most likely a Candino

6 Likes

I’m gonna jump on his post since I have a similar question. I picked up this little the other day. Don’t know the pairing that produced it. Looks banana base on color and freckles it has. Another breeder had mentioned the orange on the dorsal as possibly having another gene like OD in there. It also has reddish colored eyes. I will get that pic after it finishes eating. Thoughts comments questions all welcomed

2 Likes

From what I can see. Looks like a beautiful banana. Not seeing anything more from these pictures

1 Like

I appreciate the input. Maybe @t_h_wyman or @saleengrinch could help

2 Likes

Looks like a banana from those pictures to me as well. The orange blushing is something you see in single genes too. It gets especially prevalent as they age. Bananas have reddish (more of a dark brown) eyes in certain lighting. Bright lights make the reddish color easier to see. Most of the time it is so dark they just seem black. My banana combos eyes look black, but if I use a lot of light when taking the picture you can see a more of a brown to em. Try getting better full body shots of him.

1 Like