Beginner Hognose species and care?

Hi y’all! I’m somewhat new here. I have some experience with ball pythons. But I’m extremely intrigued by hognoses and would like to work on owning one. I was wondering if y’all could help me with the basic husbandry needs as well as if there’s a suggested beginner species. Thank you in advanced :grin:

1 Like

Best species to start with is going to be westerns, Heterodon nasicus. They have been in the hobby the longest so you have the benefit of many generations of “accidental” selective breeding for animals that readily take rodents. The other three N. American species are still very prone to being difficult feeders wanting primarily toads/frogs The Madagascar and S. American species are not beginner animals.

Setup is not terribly different from any other N. Am. colubrid. If you are keeping in a tub, then a 32q would be right for an adult. Media should be loose as they are diggers, so aspen chips or cocopeat or the like. Temp gradient should be mid 80’s to low 70’s. I am more inclined to go back heat rather than belly heat with colubrids. I strongly advocate seasonal cycling, even if you do not plan on breeding. For ours, we stop feeding after November and then ramp the temps on the thermostat down slowly through the month before turning it off completely in December. We turn it back on and ramp up in April and generally offer the first feed mid-April.

You can set them up in a cage/viv as well, though being diggers they tend to hide a LOT. If you go this approach then I very strongly advocate an overhead basking spot as that more closely mimics their natural behaviour.

We feed our every other week. Rodent-only diets are not something they evolved for so they are prone to obesity. If you can diversify their prey they seem to benefit. We feed ours quail chicks, chicken hearts, fish fillets, a variety of ReptiLinks, mice, hamsters…