Best Care for Rubber Boa

Looking for some advice on care for Rubber Boa. We rescued one recently and would love to have some advice. I am told they have a doormat period, just want to know how to best care for my new edition.

3 Likes

I don’t have a rubber boa myself ( would like to) lol but I have read that they (just males maybe) can go off feed during the winter months, which can be frustrating for their owners.

Also, I don’t think they require as much heat as other boas or even other snakes. However I think they would be really neat snakes to have around. I have seen them in pictures literally wrapped around an arm like a bracelet!

Hopefully someone else will come along and provide more information about them than I have! Lol! :lizard::frog::snake::wink::blush:. Pictures please when you can! Would love to see him!

2 Likes

I have been keeping Charina for about six years now

First, when you say “rescue”, what exactly do you mean? I ask because in many of the states they are native to they are protected so having one in captivity could get you in trouble.

For care, they are really pretty easy most of the year. They thrive at room temps and do not need any extra heat. I prefer naturalistic caging for them but I know many that keep them in tubs or simple setups without issue. They are crepuscular and fossorial so you will need to provide lots of hiding places for them and it is best to give them a god loose substrate to dig into.

They are nest-raiders so feeding should be multiple small feeders like pinkies or fuzzies. I tend to pile a half dozen or so in to a deli cup and hide the cup in the cage and let them discover them on their own. I do this maybe every two to three weeks but I will adjust based on the body composition of the animals