Best snake rack and thermostat combo?

What is the best and most accurate thermostat in your opinion/experience to use for snake racks? And what’re the best racks to use?

I’m thinking about buying a VE 300 Thermostat along with a VE Super 70 Series II 5 tub rack.

I like that you can buy more of these racks in the future to stack them on each other for a neat and professional appearance. Also the super 70 tubs are big so I can raise my snakes from hatchlings and never have to change their housing.

The the VE thermostats just seems professional looking and The price shouts quality to me lol that’s my take on that. I also like that I can buy all of it on one website at reptile basics.
I’m planning on breeding ball pythons. Is this a good setup to start off with?

Reptile Basics racks are great. I only have experience with 1 VE thermostat (I’ve been using a Vivarium Electronics VE200 for about 5 years now and it has worked beautifully the entire time (knock on wood). I do think you may be running into a headache going straight to the Super 70 rack with neonate animals. They really are BIG tubs. (I have a stack of 8 sitting in the garage about to be used in a rat growout rack). You may find yourself preferring to start them out in a VE6 rack.

1 Like

Is there a problem with housing babies in big tubs?

Younger snakes of some species have a tendency to not do as well in larger enclosures, ball pythons being one of them. They’ll stress out and likely refuse to eat.
You might be able to get it to work if you provide plenty of clutter, coverage, and of course hides.

3 Likes

Wow okay, I never knew that. Thanks bro. I think I’m gonna go ahead and buy the super 70 and clutter it. Thanks so much though for the heads up.

1 Like