Bioactive tarantula enclosures

Hello all. I’m thinking that I might like to try my hand at doing some bioactive enclosures for my tarantulas when they’re ready for adult-sized enclosures. I’ve never done bioactive before, so I’d love to hear from some folks who have, especially for inverts. My Ts are still a ways off from being large enough to be moved into adult-sized enclosures, so it seems like now is a good time to start researching and planning in earnest.

The two species at play (for now) will be T. albopilosus and G. pulchripes. I keep them relatively dry (just overflow the water bowl every so often so they have a moist corner, but I typically don’t mist them). As such, I’ll need a cleanup crew that isn’t overly moisture-dependent. I’m also a little iffy about adding live plants to the G. pulchripes enclosure, since she enjoys engaging in landscaping projects and would likely just dig up any live plants. :person_facepalming: But who knows, maybe I’ll try adding some pothos or something else super hardy just to see what happens. I’d definitely like to add a live plant to the T. albopilosus enclosure.

I guess my biggest question right now is about cleanup crews. What would be the best species of springtails and isopods to use? I’m looking for things that don’t need a ton of humidity, are hardy, and would pose no risk to a freshly-molted tarantula. Also…how many isopods should I put in to start with?

I’d also be interested in some plant recommendations. I know pothos is great in most bioactive applications. It’s hardy, looks nice, and grows fast. But are there any other plants that might work as well, if not better, in enclosures for animals with relatively low humidity requirements? I feel like some sort of little succulent would look awesome, but I know very little about plants.