Breeding in the US

Hello fellow morph marketers. I felt the overwhelming need to express my disappointment in big retailers of inverts. Let me preface this. I am a hobbyist tarantula and reptile breeder. I have been reaching out to large retailers of tarantulas due to my collection producing more than what I can sell locally, hoping to sell large quantities of slings cheaply. I offered what I thought was a VERY modest price for species I have seen sold for upwards of 40-70$. When I say modest price, I mean I left room for a 300-400% markup on the slings, which sounds fair, right? Well, the responses I got were EXTREMELY discouraging. Apparently, these large vendors are importing these spiders for 3$-4$ a piece. 3$-4$!!! That being said, how is anybody supposed to breed tarantulas in the US if the total price of the whole sack doesn’t even cover crickets to feed the parents, electric, housing, etc.? I was shocked. I imagine what has happened is comparable to what happens to jobs in the US. They move overseas because labor and resources are cheap. Makes sense from a business stand point but where’s the support for your fellow breeders and enthusiasts who simply share a love for these creatures? All I want is to help get these creatures into the homes of other people that appreciate them, and at an affordable price, but these retailers get a spider for 3$ sell it for 70$ And refuse to buy from us breeders because they might make 65$ instead of 67$ and But then what happens to the little guy? They all will disappear and all that will be left will be the wal marts of breeding. I am disappointed large retailers. All of you started the same way. Small. The way to give back to the spider community is to support local breeders. Then maybe there would be more of us and retailers could buy spiders in the United States for prices they’re looking for instead of funding who knows what overseas. I never realized people could be so cut throat and ignorant about breeding and purcha