Breeding projects

I’m planning on starting to breed reptiles, I want to breed corn snakes, western hognoses, and crested geckos. Is there any genetic diseases that may come with certain morphs, like how spider morphs in ball pythons have neurological issues. Any morphs to avoid? Anything I should know about breeding as I’m new to it.

6 Likes

IN crested geckos you can’t breed two Lilly whites together, as the super is lethal. Also Super Cappuccinos can have some issues as well(Smaller nostrils I believe)
I don’t know anything about the other species, but there will definitely be someone around to help you out with that!

5 Likes

Here’s my (very unexperienced) 2 cents:

Issues (there very well could be many I don’t know of)

• I believe lily white x lily white in crested geckos is more often than not (if not always) lethal for offspring
  • I think palmetto corns have a tendency to have bug eyes, and some people are trying to work on that (it could be a genetic diversity issue in the line rather than a gene issue)
  • I believe Snake Discovery has a working theory that lavendar x lavendar hogs slug out more than lavendar x het lavs, but I don’t think that is proven yet

Cresties are oversaturated in the market, so you’d need really high quality animals with proven lineage and probably a very clear direction to take

Corns and hogs are slightly less saturated market-wise, but it would still be a good idea to have a very clear direction to take your project in

Also 3 reptiles to start at once might be a lot. If you are already keeping all 3 successfully maybe start with one project so you don’t get overwhelmed and burn out?

6 Likes

In crested geckos

• As already mentioned, the super form of Lilly White is lethal. If they do manage to hatch they have severe neurological issues and will pass within days if not hours.