Can anyone help me figure out my leopard gecko's morph?

So I just got this little baby a few days ago and I’m very new to leopard geckos and I wanted to see if anyone could help me figure out their morph. I’m guessing it’s in the snow family.

5 Likes

@erie-herps @mblaney can help :blush:
They’re the Leo gurus! :star_struck:

2 Likes

Do you have any information like the pairing?

1 Like

Ooooh, idk but its some kinda morph. @mblaney can assist tho

I won’t answer for her, but I imagine @mblaney is PROBABLY going to say the baby needs to grow some before you can make a solid decision on it’s morph. Leopard geckos change and develop different colors and patterns in their first year or so, so it may be too early to tell.

3 Likes

On the topic of the baby being too young, you were likely sold it too young, that is way too small to be selling. You should also put it on paper towels for a little while just to make sure it’s healthy. If you want to improve your enclosure you can post pictures of it along with your feeding schedule and we can give advice on how to improve it.

5 Likes

I have not raised Mack Snows myself, but it’s my understanding that they are born with a distinctive, smeared-looking pattern. I do not know how long the ‘smearing’ last in terms of age, but this is a young gecko and it does not have the distinctive baby patterning of a Mack Snow.

I have never owned, bred, or even seen in person Gem Snows or TUG Snows, so I do not know if there is any way to recognize them by phenotype as either a baby or adult, I think you have to know the pairing (mom & dad). Albey Snows I am very familiar with & can’t be identified visually, you have to know the genetic background.

@wrai is totally right, you cannot generally know how pattern & color may change as they grow, and thus you cannot know the full description that will suit the gecko as an adult until it’s older (e.g., whether it is a hypo or not).