Can you keep fat tailed gekos togher?

Hi, I’m new to keeping geckos and would love to get an AFT. I have seen some people online keeping them in pairs or trio’s and would love to do the same. a lot of online sources say you can’t keep them together and that they will get territorial and attack each other is this true?
I am new to geckos however i do own several different snakes so I’m familiar with humidity, humid hides, temp etc so not to worried about that.
also, if there are any other unforeseen issues with AFT’s i should be aware of pls let me know.
I do intend to do the best by any animals i let into my care so a bigger cage for more geckos is fine and also if they can’t be kept together that will also be fine with me
thanks for any help or guidance you can provide on this topic.

1 Like

As a warning…It can be a very hot button topic!

Now, I haven’t kept AFTs, but they are a bit similar to Leopards in this aspect, so I think the advice should still hold true? If a AFT keep chimes in, I defer to their judgement.
As a beginner, I would definitely say start by keeping them solitary. This way you can learn the feeding habits and behaviors of these little guys before going into a mixed group. You’ll have the best start to keeping a new species by taking it slow. When you are ready and more familiar, you’ll know what behaviors are out of the normal range and showing stress or aggression.
Every gecko has their own personality. Some may just be naturally chill. Others can be that more territorial type.

I do currently keep a trio of leos together (all female). So it would be hypocritical for me to say ‘don’t try it!’ But I do think you need the experience before you do. Keeping them in a larger enclosure as you said will also help because you can offer the multiple hot spots, feeding stations and hides.