Conformation and head type

I’m fairly new to the idea of breeding ball pythons, planning and researching for over a year now, have some snakes. I’m coming into this from a background in breeding but mostly just showing dogs - a place where there is an enormous emphasis on confirmation and type. Correct and desirable can sometimes diverge, and incorrect can sometimes be corrected via overcorrection in a mate.
Looking at photos of 100’s of hatchlings and adult ball pythons I can see very distinctive differences in head type, some that I find very appealing, some that I don’t. Do breeders actively breed for head type? Is head type part of your evaluation when deciding on which hatchlings to hold back? What would you consider to be correct head type? Are there benefits to conforming to that correct standard (if it exists) as far as health and ability to thrive?

2 Likes

I’m not sure what you mean by head type; if you’re talking about the designs and marks on the top and sides of the head then yes (referred to as head stamp and eyelines). Different morphs affect the head stamp and eye lines and you can kind of predict what the head stamp should look like but there is no uniformity the exact same combo from the exact same paring can yield head stamps with just as many differences as there are similarities.

Now if you’re talking about head shape there is only one considered to be healthy. And that’s going to be standard across all morphs. There is duck billing and shark bite, bugg eyes; just a few that affect the head shape but are considered deformitys and are not intentionally breed for do to its affects on quality of life.

3 Likes

As far as I know breeders do not really breed for head stamps. Its sort of just comes with whatever combo is being made. I can however recommend morphs like spotnose and super enchi that affect eye stripes and head pattern if you are looking for morphs that have cool head stamps.

1 Like