Cooking Rats Before Feeding

I’m new to keeping a ball python, about a month ago I got a normal female. She’s eating F/T fine so I’m not really searching for an alternative feeding solution but I’ve wondered if cooking her rats would be of any benefit. My first thoughts on why nobody cooks their rats is because it sounds very inconvenient, but I cook with Sous Vide all the time and I’m wondering if that would work. Sous Vide basically works by vacume packing the food and putting it in a water bath at a consistent lower temperature for a few hours. It’s easy and makes perfect steaks so I’m pretty sure you could cook a rat perfectly without it exploding. You’d need to cool it down after so you’re not feeding a rat that’s to hot but theoretically you could even put them back in the fridge if the snake didn’t accept it because they’re cooked and it won’t rot in their stomach either. Does anyone who knows more about a snakes digestive system have any ideas on this?

2 Likes

To my knowledge, cooking them would destroy a lot a nutrients in them. On top of that, snakes are designed to eat raw meat, so why risk any issues that could arise if fed cooked prey? If they would even eat it. You also should never have rodents in anything you would cook in or eat out of, since that could make you sick. So cross-contamination would be another reason not to. @t_h_wyman might know more, but over all I think is basically a common sense kinda thing. If they are designed to eat one thing and you feed them something they aren’t designed for, then problems could come of it. It is like people that try to make their cats vegan.

12 Likes