Corn ID Help?

Picked up two corns from a local shop today that were just too cute to pass up. I am pretty new to corns and don’t even know where to start on trying to ID the visuals on these guys but I am curious to know the building blocks that made these cuties!

Cricket is a 12g presumed female.

I know she is Tessera but am unsure on the color. She looks similar to my strawberry anery but not quite the same? I’d love to know if anyone has tricks to rule out Lavender (looks a bit like an orchid) aside from proving her out in a few years with my strawberry snow.

Edit: Natural light Cricket pictures!

Popcorn is an 18g presumed male.

My best guess is butter and something??? He is my first on the yellow side of corns so I am at a total loss past the amel eyes.

Regardless, they are cute and will be well loved but I am curious to hear your thoughts!

5 Likes

Wow, very nice pickups! Popcorn is a butter motley and I would consider him a hurricane motley as well.

I think I need to see some more pics of Cricket, in natural lighting and pics that show her belly. She’s definitely tessera and she’s definitely not an orchid. Possibly a ghost tessera?

3 Likes

I didn’t even think of ghost honestly. It has already gotten dark here so for today this is the best belly picture I have on her.

3 Likes

Very nice babies, congrats! @solarserpents is spot on, as usual. Looking forward to pics of Cricket in natural light once the world turns again.

2 Likes

@solarserpents & @caryl sorry for the delay! Weather was abysmal yesterday. Today was a bit overcast but we managed some sunlight for crictures! (Cricket pictures)

5 Likes

That is a very cool snake. I think she’s possibly a red factor granite tessera or a strawberry granite tessera.

3 Likes

Very cool! I have a strawberry granite named Squid and Cricket is a bit darker which threw me off the most. In a few years I’ll probably give her a clutch with my strawberry snow and know for sure :grin:

2 Likes