Could this work?

Hello all, I’m I’m still kinda new to boas and would like to know some things about what morphs you can breed with each other. When I got my first boa I got a female that’s a BCI Hypo het anery pos het vpit+ and she just made me fall in love with boas, rn she’s still very small but in the future I would like to breed her. I later picked up an adult male who is 6yrs old he’s a Nicaraguan T+ sunglow and he’s freaking bad ass and I was wondering maybe some years down the line when my female has matured would they be a good match. Pics of both female and male

6 Likes

Those 2 albinos are not compatible, but you certainly could pair them. The possible outcomes for that clutch include a mixture of normals (with potentially interesting patterning given the mixed localities), hypo, super hypo all the are het for both lines of albino and pos het for anery.

4 Likes

So there is no potential for anything to come out and be like the male or better? What would be a good match up for the female?

3 Likes

just noticed she was only pos het for VPI so the paring with the male would only be post het VPI. The only certainty on pairing with her would be a male with anery. If you found a male that was visual VPI and/or anery (likely type 1) you could attempt to prove her out and make VPI moonglows.

For your male, find a Nic female that is either het or visual albino and maybe has motley to make some really nice visual babies. Motley in the nic albinos really pops.

5 Likes

Damn some Moonglows would be nice! Thank you I would love to see what she gives me in the future

4 Likes

Well to the family @santana1995! Ya just gotta love boas period! So glad you found us! I’m not a boa breeder, just a boa keeper, but you will find way more than enough advice to get your breeding projects going.

There is so so much experience here! Come back even if you don’t have questions! We have a lot of fun! :blush:

4 Likes

I think you got some good advice.