Crested Gecko Identification Help Possible Axanthic Line

Hello everyone. I have been working with Cresties for a few years and have been hatching a “DARK” line similar to Charcoal or possibly Axanthic. I highly doubt that they are Axanthic but they look very similar to the Axanthic postings. Curious if there are any signs to tell if they are Axanthic or another morph.

I love these babies either way!

A few of the “Dark” babies are pictured next to a Lily White and a Harlequin.

Breeding was possible Axanthic (Black and White Gecko) to a Red Confetti. Then those offspring back to the possible Axanthic and these are a few of the babies. Pic of Sire, (Black and White Crestie)

Any insight or help would be greatly appreciated.

8 Likes

@ghoulishcresties @foxreptile Any ideas? I don’t know enough about Axanthic, Charcoal, etc. to know what to make of this. Interesting for sure!

1 Like

I don’t agree with inbreeding in reptiles for starters, especially straight back to parents.

I wouldn’t say axanthic myself. Just some dark and chocolate based babs.
I have darks here that look similar and chocolates too. :grin:

3 Likes

@ghoulishcresties Thank you for your response. I don’t agree with inbreeding anything. The research and individuals I’ve spoken with said this was the way to try and prove out the Axanthic possibility without spending $10K on a proven Axanthic. Was I misled?

So should I list them as anything specific?
Chocolates, Blacks, Charcoals, Browns or Darks etc.

Thanks again for any and all input.

1 Like

I also disagree with inbreeding and when selling this should be mentioned. Inbreeding can lead to health problems and you may need to reduce price too reflect this, even if seem healthy ATM. The darks look to have small head structure, this could be genetic or due to inbreeding.

If I’m honest it looks like you’ve just got dark patternless / bicolour geckos next to Lilly Whites & doesn’t look to be axanthic or charcoal.