Crestie Egg or What?

I am completely new to crested geckos, and I got a pair of them in November. The day I came back from vacation, I found this in my female crestie’s terrarium. At first I thought it was a peice of wood, (as we do have some driftwood in her enclosure), but it was a bit squishy and looks suspiciously similar to an empty crestie egg. What do you guys think?

2 Likes

I’d say def an egg, does it feel empty? I see potentially a slit, so if it feels full it may be fertile but dehydrated, if there is a slit and it feels empty, check that habitat! Might have a hidden surprise!

2 Likes

The inside is completely empty, and the random peice of wood/egg is very dry. There could be fertile eggs in the terrarium, and here’s why. (Quick story incoming), so when I first got my Cresties, they came cohabbed in a single terrarium (which was slightly to my surprise, but you know how Craigslist is :person_shrugging:). One is male, and one is female, and according to the previous owner they had been cohabed for most of their adult life. I wasn’t really happy about the whole cohabing situation, so we’re working on getting the female her own terrarium soon, but anyway, she has been living in the same terrarium as the male for a few months now in my home, and it could be possible that in that time she could have been gravid but we’ll see :person_shrugging: . I am also starting to believe it’s an egg though, because when I checked up on her I she was in her humid box with a suspicious mound of dirt to one side of the box. I haven’t yet checked her box, but when I was going to open the box I found this lil’ oddball egg instead. Thank you for your help!

2 Likes

I absolutely think that’s an egg and you have a little one in there, hopefully safe and sound! Be careful when looking, they are sooooo small as babies!