Electrical Safety Relating to Reptiles

Hopefully this will help some people out and I want to refute a few things I hear repeated through out the hobby. I’ll try not to just tell you what to do, but why we do it. I’ve been doing electrical for a living for 13 years. I also would like to open this thread to anyone who would like to ask any electrical related question. If I do not know the answer personally, chances are I know where to find it or know someone I can ask.

Receptacles
Yes the ones in your wall. If I plug something into it, does it fall out easy? Does a light tug make it pop out? Does it look a little limp plugged in? That means the spring tension on what holds the blades inside the receptacle are weak and you have the potential of a fire hazard. Loose connection creates more resistance, resistance creates heat, heat creates more resistance, resistance creates more heat, the cycle continues til something burns up or melts. Now with that said, it takes the right conditions to have a disaster, but just do yourself a favor and not allow those conditions to happen. Replace the receptacle. Use your own judgement on if you need a professional to do this for you or you can DIY it. I bring this up first as I feel this is one of the most common hazards in households today, parts are cheap, and you can visually see it easily.

GFCI/AFCI