Emotional Support Boa Info/Help

Hello,

I apologize for the very impromptu post. My name’s Gabe, I joined MorphMarket /the forum near late last year, and I’ve been a newbie lurker who’d planned to make his intro post once he received his boa.

I live in Texas and I plan to move into an apartment complex sometime late spring/summer, and after settling in, having my boa shipped to me. However, I’ve been encountering numerous apartment complexes that do not accept snakes.

I have been considering the option of obtaining an Emotional Support Animal (ESA) housing letter to allow me to have my boa as I have anxiety and the tactile sensation of holding snakes calms me down, and simply spending time with them helps me out just as any dog would.

In Texas, from what I’ve researched so far, the laws regarding ESAs/Fair Housing have stated that reptiles are excluded from being considered as ESA’s since they’re “non-domestic.”

I was wondering if anyone knew if it was still worth obtaining the ESA letter, even if the recommendation is for an animal that is considered non-domestic? I have a therapist I’ve been seeing for about six months and counting who is qualified to write it, I’m just more concerned that the fine print will make the letter completely void to any apartment complexes I apply to.

Thank you so much for any feedback/help in advance!

7 Likes

From here

It’s 3am and I’m a little incoherent, but I did some digging and found this. I would assume that since you are actively working with the therapist who will be writing your ESA letter, it would be acceptable.
My cat was (technically still is, just no longer “prescribed” to me) my ESA back while I was in a uni dorm in 2016, and I researched the laws heavily at the time. I don’t remember anything specifically about excluding non-domestic animals, but it has been a few years and my memory could be off or things have changed.

Hopefully you can find a good apartment that won’t give you grief over your future boa!