Escape Stories

I’m new to reptile keeping but am not to the mistakes that come with new keepers. In the short six months since keeping, I’ve managed to have two escapes. My first was my first reptile a Juvenile Gargoyle Gecko, about two weeks after having her in the enclosure and getting her use to me and the new environment I decided to take her out. Within seconds I opened the terraium door and she was on my arm and up my shoulder where she jumped to the floor. I quickly scooped her up and gently cupped her and in doing so allowed her to escape out of my hands. Trying not to squeeze her as she squirmed out in-between my hands jumping once again to the floor and in the blink of an eye disappearing. I panic, it’s almost dinner time. I begin to tear the room apart, moving everything from one side to the other starting with the bed. Then I begin emptying the baker’s rack of everything on it to no avail. Dripping in sweat and upset I knew there was not much more I could do. I put everything back in place hoping that every box put back wasn’t crushing her. Over the course of the next two weeks, I begin mixing up atleast ten cups of crested gecko powdered diet and placing it all throughout the room, figuring it would go to waste if the gecko wasn’t here to eat it anyway. I used both Repashy and Pangea, hoping the watermelon pangeas strong smell would atract her I leaned towards using more of it. I would mix it creating a smooth surface so I could check to see if they had been eaten from. Not a single one had a clue as to being touched. I lose hope, I give up. I begin to think maybe herp keeping isn’t what I need in my life right now or ever. It felt selfish and irresponsible of me to think of getting another reptile after losing one. But I did about a month after losing my gecko I got a Tremper Albino Leuistic Super Snow Leopard Gecko (Dr.Rockso) as my “first reptile”. Things couldn’t be better with him. I put my hand in and he comes out if he wants and doesn’t if he’s