Etiquette talking to a breeder

Greetings, I am normally very shy and am afraid of coming off too strong. I have contacted a breeder about the snake that I want, but they haven’t hatched yet. He told me they were close, but not quite ready. When is it acceptable to ask to have my name put to one of the snakes, to make sure I get one.

I have been told by other people in the community that he is a great breeder with quality animals and I’ve asked about food, but are there other questions that I should be asking? Should I ask them now or wait? I’m sorry if these are silly questions, but I’m very new to this and again, don’t want to come off too strong.

It’s tough to buy something sight unseen, but if he can back it up and it’s something you want then reserve it before others do. Ultimately you have to trust , also it not being born yet things can go south. I have a MBK on hold who is still in the egg. The breeder has 3/4 of the clutches spoken for already. So I reserved mine.

1 Like

Regarding holding a snake for you, everyone is different, but it’s unlikely that a breeder will officially hold something for you without money down. And most breeders won’t take money on a snake that might not exist for sale. So I think you should expect that you won’t be able to reserve a snake until it is at least hatched and eating. That’s just my opinion to help set your expectations, I don’t think it hurts to ask the specific breeder for your options though.

2 Likes

Hey, don’t feel bad! I’m pretty shy too and communicating is sometimes awkward for me.
The best you can do is ask the breeder if they can let you know right away if the snake you are looking for happens to hatch out.
If it does, then that would be your opportunity to offer to put some sort of deposit on it until it is ready to be sent out to you.