Female Leo Not Laying Eggs

Ok. So we aren’t breeding experts in our home…yet. But I want to be. So, the wife and I were talking and noticed that our adult female leo hasn’t laid any dud eggs. Are they supposed to lay dud eggs?

Here she is by the way.

We were told she is a g project red stripe.

4 Likes

I’m no expert on Leo’s, but hopefully these guys can help. @erie-herps @mblaney

1 Like

I assume you mean to ask whether it is abnormal for a female that has not been bred in a given season to lay slugs (dud eggs)?

If so- no worries! There’ nothing wrong with an adult female leo (that has not been bred) refraining from laying slugs. It would be very abnormal to have an un-bred female laying more than a few slugs in a season, she should not be producing the same numbers of eggs as a fertilized laying female.

She’s adorable! I really like how defined the spots on her head are and the sunny color of her body.

The G-Project is a bloodline (I’m pretty sure originating with Sasobek Reptiles- somebody correct me if I’m wrong) & not a description of appearance, so the only way you have of knowing whether she is a 100% pure G-Project gecko is based on the integrity of the seller.

She does not have a ‘Red Stripe,’ as that would be a very defined, bright orange pair of stripes on her back and down all the way through to the tip of her tail, whereas she is a Super Hypo (very few spots on her body). However, phenotypically, she has something that I’ve heard called a ‘Patternless Stripe,’ where the background hues of her body form 2 vague, thick stripes on her back, but her tail is not involved. I would personally describe her phenotype as a Super Hypo High Yellow, though some might say Super Hypo Tangerine. The crazy thing is that the correct morph description changes over the course of an animal’s lifetime, especially in their first 2-3 years.