First clutch, and what?!?

First ever clutch of corn snakes, our main focus is ball pythons and we’re definitely more familiar with those genetics. We have a female snow corn that was given to us at 7 years old and laying infertile eggs every. We purchased what we were told was a snow tessera male to raise up for her.
He just got up to weight this year and when she stopped eating we paired them. Less than 3 weeks later we had 20 good eggs (looks like 3 went bad during incubation) and about 50 days later we had another clutch (9 good, 5 infertile).
First clutch is hatching today, day 65. One is almost solid white and we think we have extra genes.

Male

Female

Hatchlings

4 Likes

@caryl @noodlehaus

3 Likes

Was the female bred previously?

I’m no expert on corn genetics, but that time table doesn’t seem right. I would think it would be a much longer period of time than 3 weeks between pairing and laying eggs. I could be way off base, but that doesn’t add up.

4 Likes

Looks like both parents were het stripe. From that pic, I’m seeing snow, snow tessera, and snow tessera stripe. Feel free to post more pics once they’re all out and after they’ve shed for more accurate morph identification.

7 Likes

The female was a single pet only before this breeding. She was always alone and laying infertile eggs every year.

3 Likes

Thank you. I’ll post more pictures as they shed

4 Likes

So far I’m in agreement with @solarserpents, though we’ll definitely need post shed photos.

4 Likes

Congratulations on a beautiful, healthy bunch of babies! Yes to Snow, Snow Tessera, and Snow Stripe babies. Clearly your female is het Stripe. Your male is either het or homo Stripe. It’s hard to see the markings on your male, but it looks to me as if he’s potentially a Snow Tessera Stripe. Do you happen to have pics of him when he was younger?