First Clutch born July 3rd have all (4) shed with no problems

My very first clutch Pairing of GHI/Black Pastel to Champagne/lesser/Pastel
there where born july 3rd and since have shed, problem is i have offered them food and they don’t show signs of eben wanting to eat i leave the food there see if its because their scared or something and i take the food out and back again but nothing i tried leaving the pinkys over night and still dont eat im new at this and am worried because its aug 4 and they have not even tried to eat what can i do or is this normal and i shoudl let it be.
Thanks All

9 Likes

Congrats on the clutch!
It can be normal. My babies hatched out on the 10th and only 2 have eaten so far. Not everyone is ready to go at the same time. But that said… let’s troubleshoot a bit!

Leave them alone for a couple of days. The more you keep putting stuff in, the more they can stress out.
Are the babies separated?
What are they set up in?
How are the temps?

6 Likes

i has separated them, there in bins in a rack set up for 85.0, thanks for chiming it I just got a second clutch today and am worried. i’m doing something wrong would hate to loose the because of it.

6 Likes

Biggest things I’d ask: what size bins? do they have hides?

Also these days I don’t even bother with pinky rats anymore. I start all my hatchlings off with live fuzzy mice (that are still too young to be able to bite a ball python.) If I had access to ASFs I’d probably try ASF fuzzies too. The reason I choose fuzzies is I like ones I can leave all night without worrying they will attack the snake. After 1 or 2 live mice I switch to f/t mice and feed mice until they can easily take a large fuzzy rat and never had even one problem with a snake getting “stuck” on mice.

I’ve also found that snakes with hides take food way more readily than without, so I choose to give all my hatchlings the small size hides from Reptile Basics.

10 Likes