First Clutch of the year Identification Help

Our first clutch of the year always throws us something that we can’t readily explain.
Dam is supposed to be cinnamon pastel pos fire(hard to see, but almost has moss green flaming on her sides)
Sire is supposed to be mahogany chocolate butter

How did we end up with such a silver baby?
*I have been researching this particular pairing for 3 years, part of a long term personal project nothing that looked anything like this has come up.
Mother

Father

Babies

5 Likes

The silvery baby looks to be super cinny.
I think your sire also has blkpastel or cinny. especially with the way his sides make the chaining pattern. I can’t say for sure, but I’m thinking cinny, lesser and mahogany not chocolate.

Super cinny can lead to kinking, so I would double check this little one later on. Also, shark mouth or cleft lips can happen. This side looks pretty good on that one though.

6 Likes

Agreeing with @armiyana , the baby looks like a super cinny. The father is likely mahogany cinnamon butter without the chocolate, or have blk pastel. I’m kind of just restating what @armiyana said, but hey, I agree.

5 Likes

** EDIT TO CORRECT MY BRAIN PLAYING TRICKS ON ME **

Sorry, brain was scrambled yesterday… Chocolate, Wookie, and Sable are allelic and for some reason I confused Wookie and Mahogany. My absolute screw up there

6 Likes

Did I miss chocolate and mahogany being proven allelic? Last I heard they were not even suspected.

4 Likes

Good question! And also news to me.
I thought chocolate was spider complex and mahogany was it’s own complex with stranger.

6 Likes

The problem is that I’ve checked every possible combination and the sire doesn’t fit any of the other possible genetics. We also have 1 baby in there that looks perfectly like what a mahogany cinnamon chocolate should look like.
Our thoughts at this point is that we possibly have a partially partho clutch.