First feeding completed!

Icy now just ate her first thawed fuzzy rat since she been home… on the first attempt !! Really fascinating!:tada:

4 Likes

Don’t you love when you get a good eater!!
Makes me feel so happy I don’t have to worry about them going on strike :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

This is my first time owning a ball python I was nervous in general lol! And out of curiosity… how many times should I feed my juvenile female? Once a week? Or twice a week?

2 Likes

At most once every 7 days. Once it reaches 1-1.5 years old I would slow down to once every 10 days. After 3 years old, only every 10-14 days. They have heroically efficient metabolisms that were not designed for how fatty the European rodents we feed them are.

3 Likes

Is it normal for her to stay in her humidity box right after eating? She been in their all day??

2 Likes

Yep, nothing to worry about.

4 Likes

Ball pythons like to be left alone to digest their food. So hiding is normal.

Congrats on getting Icy to eat, it’s always a worry for me

Do you know Icy’s weight?

3 Likes

I was worried about getting the fuzzy rat up to temp ! & I honestly didn’t even think to ask for her weight from the place I got her from. But here is the picture I took of her the first day I got her!

2 Likes

Very cute snake. If possible I’d suggest to weigh your snake so you can keep s track, just incase Icy stops eating.

But I think 1 per week should be enough

2 Likes

It’s now been 3 going on 4 days since first feeding with ICY. And she still curled up in her humidity box/hide in (warm side). Is this still normal?? I’m concerned about her sitting in their for to long and end up developing skin rot, unless this is normal juvenile behavior?

1 Like

What is the temp & humidity of the enclosure?

1 Like

Cool side ranges 75-80. The warm side is 80-85 and the hot side is 87-92. But when I try to actually take the temperature of the glass enclosure it’s only reading 77 degrees.