Frm a dazed and confused guy

Hi everyone, I’m new to Ball Pythons… 1 1/2 months in. As heading says I’m just Dazed and Confused on how to care for my snakes. Yes, plural. I have a year old pastel female and a normal male 4-6 months.
I started out getting info on you tube then jumped on facebook groups. I hear 50-60 humitidy is good from Facebook and here. Then some readers say 50% is to low. They say 65-75% is good year round.
I heard on several you tube videos from several people that say to help get humidity up during shed to use a cool mist fogger (just clean it every couple of days). Now I’m getting info they can cause RI. Green Room Pythons laid out RI’s and said moisture does not cause RI but bacterial and viral cause RI infections.
I’m so dang confused and wondering if it’s actually worth it… (of course it is)… Part of the problem may be my OCD and wanting everything perfect.
Here is my current set up. My smaller male is in a 120 gallon zoo med terrarium, coco substrate 2 inches thick. Heat mate under enclosure and under large water bowl. Yes on a thermostat. Uva/uv lamp on timer. 2 ceramic heat emmiters on top each on its own thermostat to have more precise temp. gradiant, temps steady on hot side 86, cool 78. Humitidy stabile at 60%. My problem is, little dude is in shed, I could not get 75% to 80% humidity during shed. So bought a cool mist humidifier now easy to hold 80-85%.
Now finding out some say humidifiers are OK for short term during shed. Others say no way.
I know this is long, but man my brain is on information overload.
Is there a reputable book I can go by?

5 Likes

There is a lot of information out there, so it definitely can be confusing. Of the souces you’ve listed, I’d would agree with Green Room Pythons, from what I’ve seen of them their information usually is pretty solid.