Frozen Feeder Question

Hi everyone, I have a potentially dumb question. I bought a pack of frozen mice at a local expo this weekend (trying to save on shipping costs). I was sorting them by weight today and I noticed they smelled like mouse bedding and some of them had some feces stuck to their fur. The bag also had some bedding in it. Are these mice safe to use? I typically buy from Perfect Prey or Big Cheese and those come vacuum sealed and I’ve never noticed a smell or feces before. The mice themselves look fine but I’m worried they’re not safe. I’m still kinda new to all of this so any advice or insight would be appreciated

9 Likes

First of all @starchild26 there IS NO dumb question here!!! Personally I have never encountered the bedding situation with frozen rodents.

However if there is actually bedding stuck to the rodents you can always wash the rodents with Dawn dish soap. Although that will affect the smell of them.

Sometimes there will be a tiny bit of feces on the rodents from Petsmart but I don’t worry about that because when a snake eats a ft rodent, whatever poop is inside gets eaten as well……

Probably not much help but……. :thinking::blush:

8 Likes

Yes, they’re perfectly fine. They live in bedding and poop, it’s occasionally going to get stuck to feet and pulled into processing. Basically as long as feeders don’t smell rotten or have weird lumps/bumps/wounds, I’d say you’re alright.

10 Likes

Okay great! Thanks for the replies. I was hoping it was fine, but I wanted to double check. I haven’t encountered anything like this before, but I also haven’t been keeping snakes very long. I figured if a snake eats whole prey, they also eat the poop that’s inside the mouse. I removed the bedding and wiped off the poop already. The mice smell like mice, not rotten or anything, and they look perfectly fine. I’m glad I asked though as this give me peace of mind :blush:

8 Likes