Genetic help

Bought by my girlfriend for me since I had wanted one. She got it from pet supplies and it was listed as a “fancy”. I’m very new to snakes and morphs but I was curious what it could be

3 Likes

Looks like a mojave to me. Hope she didn’t pay too much for it.

3 Likes

I think it was 100 dollars or so, she had 2 coupons, usually they charge 150 for “fancy” and 60 for normals.

1 Like

There is at least one alien face, maybe 3. Hard to tell from single photo. Mojaves should have one large spot in each side panel. Mojaves should also have a completely white underbelly. It may be part of a mojave clutch and didnt display 100% of the traits so the breeder sold it. Either way, beautiful BP. Im new to BPs as well but I have found this sight to be extremely helpful in multiple areas. Congrats on the new snake.

1 Like

From a cursery google search it def looks like it has mojave genes images (1)

3 Likes

Im 99% its a single gene Mojave. :blush:

4 Likes

BP genetics are almost mind blowing. Two mojaves being able to produce a blue eyed lucie makes my brain hurt.
So much to learn still.

2 Likes

Yep seems like a Mojave to me as well. I particularly like the pattern as adults. That’s when they seem the most defined. I’ll try to get pics of my Mojave het pied as a example

3 Likes

I’m going to give this a shot, however BELIEVE NOTHING I SAY UNTIL @t_h_wyman CHIMES IN

So the Mojave mutation reduces certain pigmentations.
One copy of this “code” is disruptive and causes what we see, but two copies is too much for the “code reader” to process and it just blanks out and causes a error in pigment production.

Sort of like when you ask a calculator to do a sum that makes no sense and you just get a error screen.

4 Likes

HI Congrats on your new baby. It definitely looks to be mojave.

3 Likes

Gotchya.
When I got my first BP…Oh I got this.pfft
When I got my morph…pfft, i got this