GTP Advice Please

Hi,

What size enclosure would be recommended for a hatchling?
How long are they to be in said size enclosure?

What would the next size enclosure be?
How long in that enclosure?

Adult size enclosure?

What age are GTP’s sexed?
Is there any way to tell the sex just by looking at the animal?

Sorry to bother people with all these questions.

Thanks in advance

3 Likes

Happy New Year and welcome to the forum! So glad you found us! Don’t ever apologize for asking questions! That’s what this forum is all about! Asking for advice and sharing knowledge!

Unfortunately I have no experience with GTP’s but I’m sure there others here who can help you! I just wanted to welcome you! :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Hi! Welcome to the forum! I honestly know nothing about these beautiful creatures but I went poking around in some older posts and did notice a mention from one of our knowledgeable and respected members here who is or was a GTP breeder, who I mention below.
I am tagging @osbornereptiles in case they are available to help.
I’m sure there are others here that are familiar with these snakes who may be able to help with your question.

Happy New Year!

4 Likes

Me again. I don’t know what keeps drawing me to this post but here I am lol. I’m not sure if anyone else will end up chiming in. So I did some more searching and while it does not answer some of your questions, it seems to at least give a rough idea of what others use for enclosures.

What do your green tree python setups look like?

3 Likes

I can’t help much with the other enclosure sizes but the bare minimum for an average sized adult is a 2 foot cube. however, I think that if you can get a 3x2x2 or 3x2x3 that it will be an overall more ideal enclosure as the can get relatively large.

I believe that they can be sexed at any age but as green trees have very fragile tails, you have to be very, very careful especially with hatchlings. I do not believe that you can sex them visually.

3 Likes