Handling advice regarding hand soap and sanitizer

As both my BPs are new to me and young I am only handling them twice a week for a very limited amount of time. I work in the service industry in a tourist town. Hand sanitizer, hand soap, bleach and Dawn dish detergent has become an constant part of my routine. Is a mild organic hand soap with no fragrance and a really good rinse and dry the right routine prior to handling my BPs? Should I stop my Tuesday 2 minute handling sessions to get them acclimated to me until this passes? Or am I over thinking this?

How new are the animals to you? I only handle when necessary (cleaning & water changes) for the first 1-4 weeks. In my opinion this gives the animals time to get acclimated to their new environment, reduce stress, and encourages a strong feeding response. What is the bleach for?

My lesser has been with me a month. My albino for a week.
The bleach is because I manage a bar in a tourist town and we are stripping it down every night for public safety.
My worry is will these products overwhelm my snakes senses? Cause chem burns? I am only handling the lesser a few minutes a week. I have not begun to handle my albino. I was going to start this week

I personally would give the albino a few weeks before handling just because it’s so new. I don’t think you’re in any danger of the chemicals you work with causing any harm to the snakes as long as your hands are clean.

2 Likes

They are so young Im worried second hand smells will repulse them. Im just going to be overly cautious and avoid any contact for now. We closed our bars yesterday. The state shut all bars today. Going in today to secure them for a month long closure. I will just stare longingly at my BPs and daydream of days to come.