Heating idea for my rack build

I’m building a rack system to house a dozen of my snakes.
I see everyone using white melamine. Why not use black?

This is what I came up with for helping heat transfer.
Not sure what the thin aluminum sheet was meant for but it’s serving my needs just fine…LOL
4" Wide flex watt hot glued on the edges only.

Running dados so they are flush with the shelf surface.

More pictures to come…

7 Likes

That looks nice and that it should heat nice and even. A tip since it looks like each level is going to have its own wiring. Make sure the wires are the same length, before you attach them together to the plug in. I know it sounds weird, but if not the levels won’t be the same temperature, even if there controlled by the same thermostat. I am not a electrician, so I don’t no the exact reason, but it is true. Good luck, pics when done please.

4 Likes

Think of it in terms of the path of least resistance. Shorter wire - less resistant for the power to travel through, meaning more power will readily flow to that section of heat tape.

4 Likes

I have used similar in my incubator.
Although I have just used aluminum tape with back heat, heat cable to even out the heat vertically, and to move some of the heat a bit under the tubs…

3 Likes

I’ve finally got my rack built. Not finished…LOL , but it’s functional.

Still need to fasten wires inside the cubby’s with push staples, zip tie wires on the back of the cabinet through the pegboard back.
Edging of course , and doors for the base cabinet.
Also thinking of adding a pull out shelf in the base cabinet that can be used as a work station.

I’ve put this off so long that I’m looking at the 70 series tubs from ARS caging for my next build.
I’ve got a few snakes that are outgrowing the 28 qt tubs this rack is built for.

6 Likes

Looks very nice, clean and professional! Good job.

3 Likes

Edging on the rack face is done. Turned out really nice too.