Hello from Sweden

I’m a swede with a life-long interest of all kinds of animals.

As a kid I spent more time with animals than humans. I sat for hours and hours in front of the aquarium at kinder garden, or in every house they had one. I collected insects in stead of playing with Barbie. I raised frogs, hosted salamanders and loved to walk all the neighbours dogs. Two of my best friends were dobermann pinchers.

I studied all animals I could, pet animals and wild. (Including spending lots of time at a mink farm as a little girl, learning a shit load about genetics and then getting traumatized the day I came there and the minks were about to be fur. I had no idea they shouldn’t keep them. I was used to fish breeders.) I read every book in the library about animals, I watched every TV-program.

I’ve always had animals at home. Hamsters, guniea pigs, finches, budgies, aquariums, cats, dogs, rats, snakes, toads, spiders… Not at the same time, but in different stages of my life.

I have a dog now, a 10 year old border collie, and my sphynx cat passed away last year.

I adopted a rainbow boa a while ago, then came a corn snake for my oldest daughter, then came a hognose for my youngest… Then came a hognose for myself and now I am ready to pick up the thread from where I was a kid and let the reptile area begin in grand style. Had tiger pythons and garter snakes in the 80s and 90s and it was a totally different game then to own snakes. I love how the knowledge, the community and the hobby has evolved. Not every part of it (like dog breeding, some things are just… not healthy), but in general. I also love being an aduld, who can decide for myself what I like to do with my time and money. :wink:

Hognoses has stolen my heart. I adore them and would love to breed a clutch in a couple of years.

Besides that I am passionate about nature, music, arts, yoga and I LOVE my work with people with special needs.