Hello to the group

Hello I’m new to the snake world. I’ve loved snakes ever since I was little. I’m looking into getting a ball python. I’m looking for some ideas in a good setup that’s not too bad on the wallet. I’m located in the Rock Hill Sc area.

5 Likes

Welcome to the community! For enclosures it would help if we knew what species of snakes you are looking to keep. For most to start I always recommend a simple plastic escape proof bin, with an under tank heat panel or heat tape on a thermostat. This helps you dial in the right temperature and humidity relatively easy. Then once you are comfortable with controlling the environment and the snake is thriving you can try more advanced/expensive types of cages if you wish.:+1:

6 Likes

Well a merry ho ho ho to you @grumpy_jm Grumpy and welcome to the forum! Definitely need to know the type of snake you are intending to house as @banereptiles Nathan stated. Then I would proceed as he suggested to get your animal started and it’s totally easy on the ole wallet! You can upgrade your setup as your snake grows.

Btw Grumpy, we all love pictures here so feel free to post away when you get your new snake! :blush:

5 Likes

Have to agree with @banereptiles. You can get a cheap storage bin from target (Ezy Storage is what I have used) for around $10-$20. (just need to drill some holes in it and possibly some in the lid as well)
Amazon has heat pads for under the tank with a control on it so you can adjust the temp, for around $12.(thess do not stick on, but you can secure it by taping the edges down on the surface you place the bin on.)
Coco husk chips for bedding.
Target sells cheap plastic bowls (I think it was 4 to a pack for under $5) use for water and the bigger ones you can cut the side open and use for a hide. Both of there are a soft plastic that you can cut with scissors.
No lighting is needed if getting a ball (or possibly another nocturnal snake.)

6 Likes