Help identifying black head on Lavender

I got this boy as lavender black head 100% het pied to pair with my pied het lav female. I don’t have much experience with black head but know that you identify it by its dark head and overall color, since pattern looks kind of “normal”. How can you identify black head on lavender since there’s no black? Or in a dreamsicle?

Add images here

2 Likes

The short answer is, that snake looks nothing like a normal lavender. Lavender Albino gets it’s name from the ground color being a light lavender tone. Blackhead replaces all the lavender coloration with white.

5 Likes

This is a normal Lavender Albino.

3 Likes

Wow what a cool difference, I never would have guessed blackhead would be responsible for that (but I am very new to BP genetics)!

3 Likes

So you’re saying that his pattern does not correspond to a regular lav albino? And the white background is coming from the blackhead? And just to add He’s around 500gr, because the lavender/white color will change once he becomes fully adult right?

I took a few more pictures inside with just the light from the window. I don’t know if it fully shows but the outline of the alien’s head are like reflective golden, really pretty.

2 Likes

Yep, blackhead just removes the lavender base color and replaces it with white, as well as affecting the pattern. As far as the color goes, he is the color he is going to be.

A Lavender Albino without other genes will look like the one I posted (and they look like that from birth), when you start to add other stuff in, you’ll get different effects like the change of pattern and color seen in Blackhead Lavender or Confusion Lavender.

Side-by-side you would never confuse the two.

Maybe we can summon Ryan and see if he can show you some more photos because these types combos are what he focuses on. @biologicalcanvas this is also his username on IG if you want scroll his page and check out his BH Lav stuff.

4 Likes